‘Succession,’ ‘Belfast,’ ‘The White Lotus’ Lead 2021 AACTA International Award Nominees

Best Drama
Andrew Garfield – "Tick, Tick … Boom!"
"The White Lotus"
"The Great"
Best Lead Actor
Jeremy Strong – "Succession"
"The Power of the Dog" – Jane Campion
"Being the Ricardos" – Aaron Sorkin
Best Supporting Actor
"The Power of the Dog"
Jennifer Coolidge – "The White Lotus"
Lee Jung-Jae – "Squid Game"
Will Smith – "King Richard"
Best Direction
"Ted Lasso"
"Sex Education"
Kristen Stewart – "Spencer"
Best Comedy
Jason Sudeikis – "Ted Lasso"
"Belfast" picked up seven nominations, including best film; direction and screenplay nods for Kenneth Branagh; supporting actress nominations for Caitríona Balfe and Judi Dench; and supporting actor nods for Jamie Dornan and Ciarán Hinds.
Best Actress In A Series
Ciarán Hinds – "Belfast"
Bradley Cooper – "Licorice Pizza"
Best Screenplay
In television, 13 productions compete for four awards, with six nominees competing for best drama series.
"We wish them the very best of luck along with all the nominees, and we look forward to seeing the results early in the new year.” “It’s hugely encouraging to see so many Australians nominated and featured on the international stage," AACTA CEO Damian Trewhella stated.
Best Actor In A Series
Best Lead Actress
Jean Smart – "Hacks"
Denzel Washington – "The Tragedy of Macbeth"
Lady Gaga – "House of Gucci"
"Licorice Pizza" – Paul Thomas Anderson
Caitríona Balfe – "Belfast"
Kodi Smit-McPhee – "The Power of the Dog"
Jennifer Hudson – "Respect"
"Nitram" – Shaun Grant
Kirsten Dunst – "The Power of the Dog"
In film, 14 productions compete for seven awards, with six nominees competing for best film.
Jamie Dornan – "Belfast"
The Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) announced the nominations for their annual AACTA International Awards, with "Belfast" leading the pack of film nominations and "Succession" and "The White Lotus" as the top contenders for the TV awards.
"Squid Game"
Jane Campion's "The Power of the Dog" followed closely behind with six nods, with recognition for lead actor Benedict Cumberbatch; supporting actress Kirsten Dunst; supporting actor Kodi Smit-McPhee; and directing and screenplay nods for the New Zealand-born filmmaker.
Ewan Mcgregor – "Halston"
Sally Hawkins – "Spencer"
Kate Winslet – "Mare of Easttown"” />
"Licorice Pizza"
Best Supporting Actress
See the full list of nominees below:
"The Power of the Dog" – Jane Campion
Caleb Landry Jones – "Nitram"
"Nine Perfect Strangers"
Murray Bartlett – "The White Lotus"
Al Pacino – "House Of Gucci"
Penélope Cruz – "Parallel Mothers"
"Belfast" – Kenneth Branagh
Judi Dench – "Belfast"
"The Kominsky Method"
"Mare of Easttown"
"Belfast" – Kenneth Branagh
"Being The Ricardos"
Benedict Cumberbatch – "The Power of the Dog"
Other Australians recognized include Nicole Kidman, who earned two nominations — one for her portrayal of Lucille Ball in "Being the Ricardos" and the other for her work in "Nine Perfect Strangers." Cate Blanchett was nominated for her supporting work on "Don’t Look Up." Shaun Grant and Justin Kurzel were recognized for "Nitram," as were the Australian producers of best drama series nominee "Nine Perfect Strangers" and best film nominees "Nitram" and "The Power of the Dog."
"Nitram" – Justin Kurzel
"Licorice Pizza" – Paul Thomas Anderson
Nicole Kidman – "Nine Perfect Strangers"
The 2021 AACTA International Awards will be presented virtually at 7 a.m. PT on Wednesday January 26). AEDT on Thursday, Jan. 27 (12 p.m.
Cate Blanchett – "Don't Look Up"
In the TV categories, "Succession" (nominated for best drama series) and "The White Lotus" (best comedy series) each boast three nominations, including nods for their Australian lead actors Sarah Snook and Murray Bartlett, respectively. "Succession's" Jeremy Strong and "The White Lotus" star Jennifer Coolidge were also recognized for their standout performances.
Nicole Kidman – "Being the Ricardos"
"The Handmaid’s Tale"
"Dune" – Denis Villeneuve
Sarah Snook – "Succession"
Best Film

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *